NO_EMAIL_GIVEN_BY_PROVIDER issue
# support-questions
c
I'm new to setting up oauth providers and such, and am currently getting back the no email given by provider error from my Azure AD integration. Are there any common gotchas that might cause this type of error? I'm sure it's something simple in my Azure AD app registration that I'm no doing right
r
yea, it means that the user you are using to sign into doesn't have an email in their account, and supertokens requires an email
c
Ah, makes sense ok thanks. I’ve set up a new app registration in an existing tenant with Azure AD and thought the users in the tenant would be connected but sounds like I’ll have to work out how to get the users tied to my app registration. Thank you!
r
Im not sure what you mean here. I assume that you are using our thirdparty recipe?
c
Sorry, yes I’m using the third party recipe and have set up a custom signinandup feature in order to allow logging in via Azure AD
My user in Azure AD does have an email on it, but it sounds like Azure might not be returning that in the login process
I thought if it even let me log in with my credentials for my user within our Azure AD tenant that it would mean the user is also tied to my ‘app registration’ which is what you have to create in Azure AD in order to set up an oauth client
r
right yea. If you want multi tenancy AD, then that's a paid feature that's coming soon
c
Oh ok, is it possible to just use that custom third party as my only form of login though?
r
yes it is
you will just have to make sure that users have emails and that ad returns the emial
c
Ok cool. I’m hoping I just need to tie users to my app registration for that. I guess my other question should be, what makes it a multi tenant setup for supertokens?
r
if you want to have different active directory credentials configured per customer of yours, so that your customers can use their own instance of AD to login into your app
c